HANDSFREE HOLIDAY

YOU ALL MIGHT WONDER WHAT IT MEANS? ON MY RECENT TRIP TO KUALA LUMPUR I STAYED WITH AN OLD COUPLE WHO WERE LIKE PARENTS DURING OUR DECADE LONG STAY THERE. NATURALLY OLD AGE DOESNOT REQUIRE ONE TO HAVE, SMART PHONES OR INTERNET. I SWITCHED OFF MY BLACKBERRY, AND MY TAB, WAS USED MORE TO TAKE PHOTOS. 

I NEVER CHECKED MY MAILS AND WENT OFF TWITTER AND TUMBLER AND MY BLOG BABY. SELF ENQUIRY IF I MISSED ANY OF IT? ACTUALLY IN OFFICIAL TERMS YES. PERSONALLY NO. I COOKED FOR THEM, HELPED CLEAN AND CHATTED. I LOOK AROUND AND FIND, OLD PEOPLE ARE NOT WANTED IN MAIN STREAM CIRCLES.

RELATIONSHIPS TODAY IS ALL ABOUT USEFULNESS. FEEL SAD, BUT CHANGE IS THE COLOUR OF LIFE. LAST YEAR I MISSED MEETING ONE OF THE MOST WONDERFUL HUMAN BEINGS, WHOM I FONDLY REFERRERD TO AS “APPA”–AND HE PASSED AWAY EARLY THIS YEAR, AFTER CREATING A WHOLESOME BEAUTIFUL FAMILY UNDER HIMSELF. HIS MARRIAGE LASTED 67 YEARS, MANY TIMES THE AVERAGE LIFE SPAN OF A HUMAN.

COMING BACK TO LEAKING KITCHENS AND PIPE BURST, I KIND OF FEEL WOKEN UP FROM DEEP SLUMBER. WASTED NO TIME IN CHARGING MY PHONES AND LAPTOP, AND PROMPTLY GOT MYSELF GLUED ON TO TWITTER,BLOG AND TUMBLER. 

DOES IT MEAN I CAN LIVE WITHOUT SOCIAL MEDIA, AND INTERNET? OR JUST THAT A SHORT SEPARATION ENHANCES MY LOVE FOR THESE? WHICH EVER WAY I LOOK AT? I UNDERSTOOD PEOPLE THERE STILL HAVE TIME FOR FAMILY, FRIENDS, KIDS AND PETS.

MOST MEMORABLE HOLIDAY, KUALA LUMPUR FOR ME IS ALWAYS FROZEN IN TIME. EVERYTHING JUST LOOKS THE SAME. AND THIS MOMEMT SHAKES ME BACK TO REALITY, THAT I NEED THE INTERNET, SOCIAL MEDIA AND BLOG–TO EXPRESS MY LOVE FOR ANOTHER LAND AND THAT I NEED THE SAME PLATFORM, I HOLIDAYED WITHOUT, TO EXPRESS MY LOVE FOR IT AND THE LAND I VISITED.

Leave a Reply

